Room's Annual Writing Contest: 2014

Send us your best work! 
Submissions to our 2014 annual contest are open until Aug. 1, 2014 at midnight.
Categories: Fiction, Poetry and Creative Non-Fiction


Per category
First prize: $500 + publication in Room
Second prize: $250 + publication in Room
Honourable mention: publication on Room's website


For fiction and creative non-fiction, one submission includes one short story or essay of up to 3,500 words.
For poetry, one submission includes up to three poems or 150 lines of poetry. All submissions include a one-year subscription to Room. If you wish to submit more than one piece, you may do so for an extra $5 per entry. Additional entries do not include an additional free subscription.
We would prefer if you double spaced your prose. If submitting multiple poems, please begin your second and all subsequent poems on a new page.  
Each entry must be original, unpublished, not submitted or accepted elsewhere for publication, and not entered simultaneously in any other contest or competition.
No entries will be accepted from previously commissioned Room writers or Room Contest judges.
The contest costs $35.00 Canadian to enter. 


Judging will be blind. Please ensure your name and contact information are not written on your piece. 
This year's judges are:
Room writing contest judge
Saleema Nawaz (Fiction)
Saleema Nawaz is the author of the short story collection Mother Superior and the novel Bone and Bread, which won the 2013 Quebec Writers’ Federation Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction. Her fiction has appeared in journals such as PRISM InternationalGrainThe New Quarterly, Prairie Fire, and The Dalhousie Review. Her short story “My Three Girls,” won the 2008 Writers’ Trust of Canada/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. Read our interview with Saleema.

Rooom Writing Contest judge

Sonnet L'Abbé (Poetry)
Sonnet L'Abbé, Ph.D. is the author of two collections of poetry, A Strange Relief and Killarnoe, both published by McClelland and Stewart. She is now at work on Sentient Mental Flower Book, her third collection of poems. L’Abbé was also, during the summer of 2013, the Artist-in-Motion for the 2017 Starts Now initiative hosted by CBC Radio-Canada, Community Foundations of Canada and Via Rail. Read about her cross-Canada journey at Read our interview with Sonnet.
Room writing contest judge
Sarah de Leeuw (Creative Non-Fiction)
Sarah de Leeuw, a creative writer and human geographer, is a two-time recipient of a CBC Literary Prize for creative non-fiction. Author of three books, two of short essays and one of poetry (Geographies of a Lover, winner of the 2013 BC Book Prizes Dorothy Livesay Award for the best work of poetry that year), she is an Associate Professor with UNBC’s Northern Medical Program in the Faculty of Medicine at UBC. She is Northern BC's first Michael Smith Foundation for Health Research Scholar and a Research Associate with the National Collaborating Centre for Aboriginal Health. Her academic research is focused on health inequalities, creative arts, colonial power and Indigenous peoples. Both her creative and academic writings appear widely in a number journals and anthologies, including ARCfilling stationThe Annals of the American Association of GeographersThe Journal of Canadian Family Physicians; and PRISM International. Read our interview with Sarah.



“It's Canadian, feminist, and one of my favourite things ever.”

—bucketofrhymes, "29 Amazing Literary Magazines You Need To Be Reading", Buzzfeed Books

Room relies on subscriptions from readers like you. Help us continue to promote and support diverse women and genderqueer authors and artists by subscribing today.


Currently on Newsstands

  • Devour cover: Pink background with 3 arms. One each lighting a candle, holding a vibrator, holding a tea bag over a cup
    Room 43.2, Devour
    Edited by Jessica Johns

    In this issue:

    Manahil Bandukwala, Dessa Bayrock, Megan Beadle, Brandi Bird, lue boileau, Rachel Burlock, Justina Chong, Mollie Cronin, Marilyn Dumont, Edzi'u, Ashleigh Giffen, katia hernandez velasco, erica hiroko, Jessica Johns, Shaelyn Johnston, Yume Kitasei, Mica Lemiski, Jessie Loyer, Annick MacAskill, Callista Markotich, Sonali Menezes, Kai Minosh Pyle, Natasha Ramoutar, Carmina Ravanera, Rohsni Riar, Jessica Rose, Rowan Siah, Eli Tareq El Bechelany-Lynch, Kelly S. Thompson, Arielle Twist, Phoebe Wang, Yu-Sen Zhou