Indigenous Brilliance Podcast Episode 1: Creation Story

Interview by 
Karmella Cen Benedito De. Barros

This episode is the creation story of the Indigenous Brilliance Collective: a collective partnered with Room Magazine and Massy Books to showcase emerging Indigenous women, Two Spirit, and Indigiqueer artists in a quarterly reading series.

The episode's showhosts, jaye simpson and Karmella Benedito De Barros, chat with collective members Jonina Kirton, Jessica Johns, and Emily Dundas Oke about collective accountability, mentorship, upholding emerging voices, and Indigenous art and storytelling. They also acknowledge and discuss Patricia Massy, the co-founding member of the collective.

Indigenous Brilliance Podcast is recorded and produced by Karmella Benedito De Barros and jaye simpson on the traditional and unceded territories of the Squamish, Musqueam, and Tsleil-Waututh peoples.

Transcription of this episode is available.

Release Date: February 27, 2020

“It's Canadian, feminist, and one of my favourite things ever.”

—bucketofrhymes, "29 Amazing Literary Magazines You Need To Be Reading", Buzzfeed Books

Room relies on subscriptions from readers like you. Help us continue to promote and support diverse women and genderqueer authors and artists by subscribing today.


Currently on Newsstands

  • Room 43.3 Neurodivergence: Collage construction featuring black and white architecture dotted with circular adornments and rectangular window grids.The architectures are both right-side-up and upside-down, challenging gravity while becoming their own planet - bonded together by sharp, clear crystal points and organic blooms of mustard-coloured minerals.
    Room 43.3, Neurodivergence
    Edited by Rachel Thompson

    In this issue:

    K. J. Aiello, Aeman Ansari, Annie Blake, Karmella Cen Benedito De Barros, Aimée Henny Brown, Megan Callahan, Conyer Clayton, Rachel D.L., Dorianne Emmerton, Lauren Ewald, Kate Finegan, Catherine Garrett, LHC, Safiya Hopfe, Madison Hyman, Claire Kelly, Terese Marie Mailhot, Elizabeth McGeown, Kate Mildew, Amy Newell, Lisa O’Neill, Ottavia Paluch, Ryan Rattliff, Nicole Robitaille, Michele Saint-Yves, Emi Sasagawa, L M Schmidt, A.K. Shakour, Jane Shi, Hilary Sideris, Nadia Siu Van, Erin Soros, Léa Taranto, Allison Bird Treacy, Sarah Williams, Lindsay Wong, A. Light Zachary