Room’s 2018 Cover Art Contest: The Shortlist

Posted by 
Kayi Wong

Room’s forth cover art contest closed earlier this year and here are the thirteen shortlisted artworks by twelve different artists! We had the honour of having Syrus Marcus Ware—visual artist, activist, curator and educator—judge our contest this time around. Stay tuned as we are announcing the top three artworks next week.

Cover Art Shortlist

Out of Bounds by Alexandra Maryse Wright
Twins by Amanda Chwelos
Say Cheese by Amanda Chwelos
I am I by Ashwini Bhasi
Mask by Cara Alex Seccafien
“Prefix, Untitled P1” by Farihah Aliyah Shah
Our Skin by Janice Kun
“Self Portrait” by katia hernández velasco
Self Portrait by Lilou Volage
“Fleeting” by Lisa Yamaoka
All That Glitters/Say Her Name by Marisol Diaz
Nightride by Natasha Broad
Standards by Angela Walcott


In the mean time, take a look at our contest calendar if you're interested in submitting any of your prose, poetry, and art to us and our judges for consideration and publication.

The image above features the three cover art contest winning submissions to date. From left to right: Blood Moon by Tiffany Mallery, Attachment by Amanda Rhodenizer, and You Go First by Michelle Purchase.

“It's Canadian, feminist, and one of my favourite things ever.”

—bucketofrhymes, "29 Amazing Literary Magazines You Need To Be Reading", Buzzfeed Books

Room relies on subscriptions from readers like you. Help us continue to promote and support diverse women and genderqueer authors and artists by subscribing today.


Currently on Newsstands

  • Room 42.1, Magic
    Edited by Arielle Spence

    In this issue:

    Amy Louise Baker, Jenny Boychuk, Jessica Bromley Bartram, Monica Joy Claesson, Kess Costales, Sophie Crocker, Ruth Daniell, Alex Hall, Cody Klippenstein, Suzanne Langlois, Teresa E Lobos, Lynne M MacLean, Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Isabelle Nguyen, Gaëlle Planchenault, Melanie Power, Natasha Ramoutar, Nilofar Shidmehr, jaye simpson, Cristalle Smith, Emily Urquhart, Yilin Wang, Hannah V Warren, Christine Wei, Lan Yao