Cover Art Contest 2019: The Shortlist

Posted by 
Kayi Wong
Banner consists of three Room covers featuring the artwork of three cover art contest winners and the last cover is pixelated.

The 2019 Cover Art Contest shortlist is here! Congratulations to the eight artists whose contest submissions have been shortlisted by our esteemed judge, Lindsay Nixon!

Room's 2019 Cover Art Contest: The Shortlist

“beauTiful bodies 4: River Eastwood” by Arien Reed
“Calling the River” by Hali Heavy Shield
“Call Me Irene” by Chery Holmes
“Jungle Fever” by Dona Park
“Migrations” by Em Day
“Structure and Flow” by Erin Halla
“The Trinity of Self Care” by Sonali Menezes
“virgencita please” by katia hernández velasco

The list of winners will be coming your way next week. Feel free to check out our 2020 CNF Contest which will be open until June.

The image above features the cover art contest winning submissions from our last three contests. From left to right: Attachment by Amanda Rhodenizer, You Go First by Michelle Purchase, and Prefix, Untitled P1 by Farihah Aliyah Shah.

“It's Canadian, feminist, and one of my favourite things ever.”

—bucketofrhymes, "29 Amazing Literary Magazines You Need To Be Reading", Buzzfeed Books

Room relies on subscriptions from readers like you. Help us continue to promote and support diverse women and genderqueer authors and artists by subscribing today.


Currently on Newsstands

  • Devour cover: Pink background with 3 arms. One each lighting a candle, holding a vibrator, holding a tea bag over a cup
    Room 43.2, Devour
    Edited by Jessica Johns

    In this issue:

    Manahil Bandukwala, Dessa Bayrock, Megan Beadle, Brandi Bird, lue boileau, Rachel Burlock, Justina Chong, Mollie Cronin, Marilyn Dumont, Edzi'u, Ashleigh Giffen, katia hernandez velasco, erica hiroko, Jessica Johns, Shaelyn Johnston, Yume Kitasei, Mica Lemiski, Jessie Loyer, Annick MacAskill, Callista Markotich, Sonali Menezes, Kai Minosh Pyle, Natasha Ramoutar, Carmina Ravanera, Rohsni Riar, Jessica Rose, Rowan Siah, Eli Tareq El Bechelany-Lynch, Kelly S. Thompson, Arielle Twist, Phoebe Wang, Yu-Sen Zhou