Room's 40th Anniversary Anthology

Launch Events:

Join us for Making Room launches in Toronto (Artscape Youngplace Flex Room 2017, April 22, 6:30pm) and Victoria (Copper Owl, May 13, 6pm)!

Making Room: Forty Years of Room Magazine celebrates the history and evolution of Canadian literature and feminism with some of the most exciting and thought-provoking fiction, poetry, and essays the magazine has published since it was founded in 1975 as Room of One’s Own. This collection includes poems about men not to be fallen in love with, trans womanhood, the morning-after pill, the “mind fuck” of being raped by a romantic partner, and a tribute to the women who were murdered in the Montreal Massacre. In one story, a group of sexual assault survivors meet weekly and come up with a unique way to help police capture their assailant, while in another a dinner party turns to witty talk of racism, sexism, pornography, and time travel. One author recounts how she learned multiple languages in order to connect with her father, another reluctantly walks down the aisle in order to stay in Canada with the man she loves. 

For forty years, Room has created a space for diverse voices. As Amber Dawn says in her opening essay, “There is Room. We do fit.”

Prices include tax and shipping. Will ship in mid-March, 2017.

Purchase Making Room Below

Send to:

One-Year Subscription + Making Room



Contributor List

Carmen Aguirre
Najwa Ali
Gail Anderson-Dargatz
Elizabeth Bachinsky
Marie Annharte Baker
Juliane Okot Bitek
Monique Bosco
Kate Braid
Nicole Brossard
Cyndia Cole
Ivan Coyote
Lucas Crawford
Su Croll
Lynn Crosbie
Lorna Crozier
Danielle Daniel
Amber Dawn
Junie Désil
Sandy Frances Duncan
Dorothy Elias
Christine Estima
Tanya Evanson
barbara findlay
Cynthia Flood
Chantal Gibson
Leona Gom
Jane Eaton Hamilton
Wasela Hiyate
Nancy Holmes
Anna Humphrey
Mindy Hung
Carole Itter
Amy Jones
Helen Kuk
Matea Kulić
Naoko Kumagai
Fiona Tinwei Lam
Doretta Lau
Evelyn Lau
Jen Sookfong Lee
Tracey Lindberg
Dorothy Livesay
Annabel Lyon
Vera Manuel
Daphne Marlatt
Robin Blackburn McBride
Carmelita McGrath
Cara-Lyn Morgan
Erín Moure
Susan Musgrave
Alessandra Naccarato
Kellee Ngan
Monica Pacheco
M. NourbeSe Philip
Helen Potrebenko
Sina Queyras
Eden Robinson
Constance Rooke
Rebecca Rosenblum
Devyani Saltzman
Sigal Samuel
Nilofar Shidmehr
Carol Shields
Serena Shipp
Carolyn Smart
Susan Stenson
Anna Swanson
Souvankham Thammavongsa
Audrey Thomas
Ayelet Tsabari
Chimwemwe Undi
Eleanor Wachtel
Betsy Warland
jia qing wilson-yang

Thank you to our IndieGoGo Supporters (alphabetical by first name):

A MacDonald, Aviva Martin, Aislinn Hunter, Alicia Ziebart, Aline Lesage, Amanda Earl, Amanda Leduc, Amber Dawn Pullin, Amy Roher, Andrew Dunn, Angela Caravan, Angela Christelis, Annette Robichaud, Annick MacAskill, Arnold Lim, Ashleigh Rajala, Audrey McClellan, Ayelet Tsabari, Barbara Kuhne, Bethmarie Michalska, Brigid MacAulay, Bronwen Keyes-Bevan, C Stephen, Candace Fertile, Canisia Lubrin, Caren watkins, Carleigh Baker, Carlie Blume, Carly Rosalie Vandergriendt, Carol Johnson, Carol Steel, Carys Cragg, Cate Giroux, Catherine Mellinger, Catherine Sheckler, Catriona Wright, Cedar Bowers, Charlotte Cameron, Chelsea Rooney, Chris Masterman, Claire Kelly, Clara Cristofaro, Connie T. Braun, Coryl Addy, Courtney Bates-Hardy, Courtney Belyea, Courtney Poole, Crissy Calhoun, Cullene Bryant, Cynthia Flood, D Osoba, Daniel Zomparelli, Dany Allard, Deborah Vail, Debra, dee Hobsbawn-Smith, Denise Morettin, Diana Joy, dilinb, dl clay, Elee Kraljii Gardiner, Elizabeth Berlin, Elizabeth Pau, Ellie Grogan, Elvina Sainte-Marie, Emily Morris, Emily Skov-Nielsen, Erika Thorkelson, Erin MacNair, Erin Moure, Erin Pienaar, Erin Steel, Evelyn Battell, Frances Boyle, Franci Louann, Frederique Vallieres, Georgia Wilder, Grace Evans, Heike Lettrari, Hiromi Goto, Ingrid Rose, Ivan Coyote, Jaclyn Law, Jacob McArthur Mooney & Alexis von Konigslow, Jacqueline Omstead, Jakelene Plan, Janet Berkman, Janet Fretter, Janice Williams, Jasmine Chatha, Jan Barkhouse, Jason Brown, Jason Purcell, Jean Van Loon, Jeannie Kamins, Jehn Johnson, Jen Currin, Jennifer Dellner, Jennifer Martin, Jennifer Mix, Joan M. Baril, Joanne E Betzler, John Maxwell, John Swanson, Jonathan Turner, Josette deBrouwer, Josh Cavon, Julie Eliopoulos, Kai Ying Chieh, Karen Bannister, Karen Rockwell, Kate Bird, Kate Black, Kathryn Alexander, Kathryn Stagg, Kathryne Carey, Kelly Langham, Kelly Thompson, Kerry Gilbert, Keshia Palm, Kim Pittaway, Kimberly Samsin, kristin cheung, KT Wagner, Kyla Epstein, Lana Okerlund, Laura Dilley, Lauren Martin McCraw, Leah Ranada, Leslie, Lillian Henry, Linda, Linde Zingaro, Lindsay Kwan, Liz Forbes, Louise Dwyer, Lucy Wittrup, Lynn Easton, Lynn Jacques, M Burton, M Detina, Madelaine Hock, Madeline Barber, Margaret Abela, Margaret Pattison, Margreet Dietz, Marilyn Belak, Marilyn Bell, Marilyn Westfall, Matea Kulic, Matthew Stepanic, Maureen Bradley, Maya McDonald, Meagan Joy Laforce Black, Meghan Bell, Melissa Edwards, Mikaela Asfour, Milena Droumeva, Mollie Coles Tonn, Monica Miller, Nadia Rosa Cescato, Nancy Jo Cullen, Nancy Lee, Natalie Simpson, Nav Nagra, Nerissa Martin, Nicole Brewer, Paige Gorsak, Pam Bustin, Pat Preston, Paula Jane Remlinger, Phyllis Reeve, Rachel Laverdiere, Rebecca Shaw, Rob Patterson, Rosanna Micelotta Battigelli, Rose Jang, rubymydear, Ruth Daniell, Sahar Mustafah, Sara Wilson, Sarah Jansen, Sarah Kabamba, Sean Cranbury, Seonaid Andrews, Sharon Roseman, Shayne Aeichele, Sheelagh Russell-Brown, Shelley Burns, Sonja Boon, Sonja Cvoric, Stephanie Hall, Susan Hofforth, Susan Safyan, Tanya Ward, Taylor Brown-Evans, Terri Brandmueller, Trina Kehoe, Ulrike Narwani, Véronique Béquin, Valerie Chalker Whitfield, Victoria Hemmingson, Victoria Martin, Wendy McPeake, Wiesia Kujawa, Yilin Wang, Yuriy Plisenko, Zoe Grams

And thank you as well to our many anonymous IndieGoGo supporters.

Editorial Team
1st Readers: Meghan Bell, Terri Brandmueller, Candace Fertile, Taryn Hubbard, Lindsay Glauser Kwan, Alissa McArthur, Navneet Nagra, Bonnie Nish, Rachel Thompson, Kayi Wong, and Lisa Xing
2nd Readers: Meghan Bell, Terri Brandmueller, Taryn Hubbard, Chelene Knight, Cara Lang, and Navneet Nagra
Project Coordinator: Meghan Bell
Archives Coordinator: Navneet Nagra

Media Inquiries
Meghan Bell
Publisher, Room Magazine
publisher [at] roommagazine [dot] com

Making Room: Forty Years of Room Magazine is being published with the support of Canadian Heritage through the Canada Periodical Fund. 

Currently on Newsstands

  • Room Vol 40.1: Food
    Room 40.1, Food
    Edited by Rose Morris, Kayi Wong

    In this issue:

    Sarah Beck, Ashwini Bhasi, Kat Cameron, Lucas Crawford, Dora Dueck, Marilyn Dumont, Rebecca Fishow, Veronica Fredericks, Rachel Jansen, Jane Kirby, Alexis von Konigslow, Lee Lai, Tess Liem, Alice Lowe, Tanis MacDonald , sab meynert, Silvia Pikal, Marika Prokosh, Keyu Song, Sylvia Symons, Ivy Tang, Carol Wainio, Kayi Wong, Catriona Wright, Nicole Xu